A review of Tabitha Ormiston-Smith’s ‘The Dragon of Butter’ by the Book Gremlin

Standard

the dragon of butter

The Dragon of Butter is a quirky little read and yet another excellent short story from Ms Ormiston-Smith. She is one of the most versatile writers I’ve come across, and I’ve found every one of her books able to transport me into their characters’ worlds. Her imagery is fantastic. In this, I could almost smell the hay, dung and cheese because the writing style had a theatrical quality about it. That said, it was coupled with impeccable comedy timing, which I’ve come to expect from Ms Ormiston-Smith’s work.

This story is an account of how Sir Leopold de Draco-Butyris was elevated to the rank of Baronet. I loved the characters’ names, such as Buttercup and Daisy. They conjure images of a big old dairy-fest! But that’s what this writer does. It’s the little things throughout that she makes use of, like the charming dialogue in this one, which help you fall for the characters and their situation. For me, The Dragon of Butter had almost a cartoon quality to it, and I loved that. It didn’t take me long to read. In fact, it was just what I needed for my tea break, but I would highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

