A review of Tabitha Ormiston-Smith’s ‘Restless Legs’ by the Book Gremlin

Standard

Restless Legs pic

 

This is a fabulous short horror story and won’t take you long to read, but oh, I so wanted to run into my little boy’s room and give him a cuddle when I’d finished it. I read it in one sitting, and went from feeling relaxed, chilled out, ready for bed, to biting my fingernails, checking in on my son, and tossing and turning with a sense of unease in a matter of moments. You really are thrown into the underlying sinister tone of this book because of the skilful narrative of the author.

Everything seems quite normal in the household, but you constantly question yourself over whether something is going to happen to the boy, his mum or his dad. The author paints a vivid picture of a ‘normal’ family’s night-time routine, where the child’s tucked up in bed and, for the parents, the wine is opened. I would imagine it’s a pretty standard scene across the country, but as we switch between young Pat’s point of view and his parents’ you can’t help your mind racing. With every word I could imagine the young boy and how desperate he was for his mum and, being a mother myself, it tugged ferociously at my heartstrings.

This book gave me the jitters. It’s a quick, easy read, but it doesn’t ‘alf catapult you into what runs through a youngster’s mind in the late hours. I’d highly recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

